Loading...
      2019, Volume 40 Issue 3 Previous Issue    Next Issue
    For Selected: View Abstracts Toggle Thumbnails
    Full issue
    Contents
    Zoological Research. 2019, 40 (3): 0-0.  
    Abstract ( 138 )   RICH HTML PDF (53751KB) ( 52 )  
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Review
    Specific function and modulation of teleost monocytes/macrophages: polarization and phagocytosis
    Xin-Jiang Lu, Jiong Chen
    Zoological Research. 2019, 40 (3): 146-150.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.035
    Abstract ( 488 )   RICH HTML ( 119 )   PDF (322KB) ( 582 )  

    Macrophages exist in most tissues and play a variety of functions in vertebrates. Teleost fish species are found in most aquatic environments throughout the world and are quite diverse for a group of vertebrate animals. Due to whole genome duplication and environmental adaptation, teleost monocytes/macrophages possess a variety of different functions and modulations compared with those of mammals. A deeper understanding of teleost monocytes/macrophages in the immune system will not only help develop teleost-specific methods of disease prevention but will also help improve our understanding of the various immune mechanisms in mammals. In this review, we summarize the differences in polarization and phagocytosis of teleost and mammalian macrophages to improve our understanding of the various immune mechanisms in vertebrates.

    Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
    Articles
    A new species of Crocodile Newt, genus Tylototriton (Amphibia, Caudata, Salamandridae) from the mountains of Kachin State, northern Myanmar
    Than Zaw, Paw Lay, Parinya Pawangkhanant, JVladislav A. Gorin, Nikolay A. Poyarkov, Jr.
    Zoological Research. 2019, 40 (3): 151-174.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.043
    Abstract ( 672 )   RICH HTML ( 82 )   PDF (11401KB) ( 708 )  

    We describe a new species of the genus Tylototriton from Ingyin Taung Mt., Mohnyin Township, Kachin State, Myanmar, based on morphological and molecular evidence. The new species is assigned to the subgenus Tylototriton s. str. and is clearly distinct from all known congeners by the following characters: medium body size; thin, long tail, lacking lateral grooves; rough skin; truncate snout; wide, protruding supratemporal bony ridges on head, beginning at anterior corner of orbit; weak, almost indistinct sagittal ridge; long, thin limbs, broadly overlapping when adpressed along body; distinct, wide, non-segmented vertebral ridge; 13 or 14 rib nodules; brown to dark-brown background coloration with dull orange-brown to yellowish-brown markings on labial regions, parotoids, rib nodules, whole limbs, vent, and ventral tail ridge. We also briefly discuss biogeography and species diversity of the genus Tylototriton in Myanmar.

    Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
    A new species of the endemic Himalayan genus Liurana (Anura, Ceratobatrachidae) from southeastern Tibet, China, with comments on the distribution, reproductive biology, and conservation of the genus
    Ke Jiang, Kai Wang, Yu-Fan Wang, Cheng Li, Jing Che
    Zoological Research. 2019, 40 (3): 175-184.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.025
    Abstract ( 351 )   RICH HTML ( 34 )   PDF (13640KB) ( 264 )  
    A new species of the genus Liurana Dubois, 1986 is described from Medog County, Tibet, China, based on morphological and molecular data. The new species can be differentiated from all other congeners by the following combination of characters: (1) head wider than long; (2) tympanum distinct and large; (3) hindlimb long, tibiotarsal articulation beyond tip of snout when adpressed; (4) belly with flat tubercles, cloacal region with small tubercles; (5) transverse bands distinctly on dorsal limbs, four bands on thigh and three on tibia; and, (6) dark brown marbled patterns or speckles on white belly. Here, we also discuss the distribution pattern of Liurana in the East Himalaya region, the role of the Yarlung Tsangpo River in the speciation and genetic isolation of congeners, the direct developmental mode of reproduction, and the two different ecotypes of the genus. Lastly, we provide conservation recommendations for the genus in southeastern Tibet.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Duplication and diversification of insulin genes in ray-finned fish
    David M. Irwin
    Zoological Research. 2019, 40 (3): 185-197.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2018.052
    Abstract ( 187 )   RICH HTML ( 332 )   PDF (1948KB) ( 137 )  
    Insulin is a key hormone for the regulation of metabolism in vertebrates. Insulin is produced by pancreatic islet cells in response to elevated glucose levels and leads to the uptake of glucose by tissues such as liver and adipose tissue to store energy. Insulin also has additional functions in regulating development. Previous work has shown that the proglucagon gene, which encodes hormones counter regulating insulin, is duplicated in teleost fish, and that the peptide hormones encoded by these genes have diversified in function. I sought to determine whether similar processes have occurred to insulin genes in these species. Searches of fish genomes revealed an unexpected diversity of insulin genes. A triplication of the insulin gene occurred at the origin of teleost fish, however one of these three genes, insc, has been lost in most teleost fish lineages. The two other insulin genes, insa and insb, have been retained but show differing levels of selective constraint suggesting that they might have diversified in function. Intriguingly, a duplicate copy of the insa gene, which I named insab, is found in many fish. The coding sequence encoded by insab genes is under weak selective constraint, with its predicted protein sequences losing their potential to be processed into a two-peptide hormone. However, these sequences have retained perfectly conserved cystine residues, suggesting that they maintain insulin’s three-dimensional structure and therefore might modulate the processing and secretion of insulin produced by the other genes.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Effects of C-terminal amidation and heptapeptide ring on the biological activities and advanced structure of amurin-9KY, a novel antimicrobial peptide identified from the brown frog, Rana kunyuensis
    Fen Zhang, Zhi-Lai Guo, Yan Chen, Li Li, Hai-Ning Yu, Yi-Peng Wang
    Zoological Research. 2019, 40 (3): 198-204.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2018.070
    Abstract ( 196 )   RICH HTML ( 13 )   PDF (3660KB) ( 137 )  
    Rana kunyuensis is a species of brown frog that lives exclusively on Kunyu Mountain, Yantai, China. In the current study, a 279-bp cDNA sequence encoding a novel antimicrobial peptide (AMP), designated as amurin-9KY, was cloned from synthesized double-strand skin cDNA of R. kunyuensis. The amurin-9KY precursor was composed of 62 amino acid (aa) residues, whereas the mature peptide was composed of 14 aa and contained two cysteines forming a C-terminal heptapeptide ring (Rana box domain) and an amidated C-terminus. These structural characters represent a novel amphibian AMP family. Although amurin-9KY exhibited high similarity to the already identified amurin-9AM from R. amurensis, little is known about the structures and activities of amurin-9 family AMPs so far. Therefore, amurin-9KY and its three derivatives (amurin-9KY1–3) were designed and synthesized. The structures and activities were examined to evaluate the influence of C-terminal amidation and the heptapeptide ring on the activities and structure of amurin-9KY. Results indicated that C-terminal amidation was essential for antimicrobial activity, whereas both C-terminal amidation and the heptapeptide ring played roles in the low hemolytic activity. Circular dichroism (CD) spectra showed that the four peptides adopted an a-helical conformation in THF/H2O (v/v 1:1) solution, but a random coil in aqueous solution. Elimination of the C-terminal heptapeptide ring generated two free cysteine residues with unpaired thiol groups, which greatly increased the concentration-dependent anti-oxidant activity. Scanning electron microscopy (SEM) was also performed to determine the possible bactericidal mechanisms.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Purification and characterization of a novel anti-coagulant from the leech Hirudinaria manillensis
    Ruo-Mei Cheng, Xiao-Peng Tang, Ai-Lin Long, James Mwangi, Ren Lai, Rui-Pu Sun, Cheng-Bo Long, Zhen-Qing Zhang
    Zoological Research. 2019, 40 (3): 205-210.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.037
    Abstract ( 279 )   RICH HTML ( 40 )   PDF (1059KB) ( 359 )  

    Protease inhibitors have been reported rarely from the leech Hirudinaria manillensis. In this study, we purified a novel protease inhibitor (bdellin-HM-2) with anticoagulant properties from H. manillensis. With a molecular weight of 1.4x104, bdellin-HM-2 was also characterized with three intra-molecular disulfide bridges at the N-terminus and multiple HHXDD and HXDD motifs at the C-terminus. cDNA cloning revealed that the putative nucleotide-encoding protein of bdellin-HM-2 contained 132 amino acids and was encoded by a 399 bp open reading frame (ORF). Sequence alignment showed that bdellin-HM-2 shared similarity with the “non-classical” Kazal-type serine protease inhibitors, but had no inhibitory effect on trypsin, elastase, chymotrypsin, kallikrein, factor XIIa (FXIIa), factor XIa (FXIa), factor Xa (FXa), thrombin, or plasmin. Bdellin-HM-2 showed anticoagulant effects by prolonging the activated partial thromboplastin time (aPTT), indicating a role in enabling H. manillensis to obtain a blood meal from its host. Our results suggest that bdellin-HM-2 may play a crucial role in blood-sucking in this leech species and may be a potential candidate for the development of clinical anti-thrombotic drugs.

    Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
    Reports
    Passive eye movements induced by electromagnetic force (EMF) in rats
    Yue Yu, Jun Huang, Chun-Ming Zhang, Tian-Wen Chen, David S. Sandlin, Shao-Xun Wang, Alberto A. Arteaga, Jerome Allison, Yang Ou, Susan Warren, Paul May, Hong Zhu, Wu Zhou
    Zoological Research. 2019, 40 (3): 211-218.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.024
    Abstract ( 200 )   RICH HTML ( 15 )   PDF (6182KB) ( 148 )  
    Accurate information on eye position in the orbit is available from visual feedback, efference copy of the oculomotor commands and proprioceptive signals from the extraocular muscles (EOM). Whereas visual feedback and oculomotor commands have been extensively studied, central processing of EOM proprioceptive signals remains to be elucidated. A challenge to the field is to develop an approach to induce passive eye movements without physically contacting the eyes. A novel method was developed to generate passive eye movements in rats. A small rare-earth magnet disk (0.7 mm diameter, 0.5 mm thickness) was attached to the surface of a rat’s eyeball. A metal rod (5 mm diameter) wrapped with an electromagnetic (EM) coil was placed near the magnet (8–15 mm). By passing currents to the EM coil, electromagnetic force (EMF) was generated and acted upon the magnet and induced passive eye movements. The EMF induced well-defined passive eye movements, whose directions were dependent on current polarity and amplitudes and peak velocities were dependent on current intensity and duration. Peak velocities of the EMF-induced eye movements were linearly related to amplitudes, exhibiting main sequence relationships similar to that of saccades in awake rats and eye movements induced by electrical microstimulation of the abducens nucleus in anesthetized rats. Histological examination showed that repetitive EMF stimulations did not appear to result in damages in the EOM fibers. These results validated the EMF approach as a novel tool to investigate EOM proprioceptive signals and their roles in visual localization and gaze control.
    Related Articles | Metrics
    Depressed female cynomolgus monkeys (Macaca fascicularis) display a higher second-to-fourth (2D:4D) digit ratio
    Wei Li, Ling-Yun Luo, Xun Yang, Yong He, Bin Lian, Chao-Hua Qu, Qing-Yuan Wu, Jian-Guo Zhang, Peng Xie
    Zoological Research. 2019, 40 (3): 219-225.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.022
    Abstract ( 350 )   RICH HTML ( 276 )   PDF (1904KB) ( 242 )  

    This research aimed to provide evidence of a relationship between digit ratio and depression status in the cynomolgus monkey (Macaca fascicularis). In stable cynomolgus monkey social groups, we selected 15 depressed monkeys based on depressive-like behavioral criteria and 16 normal control monkeys. All animals were video recorded for two weeks, with the duration and frequency of the core depressive behaviors and 58 other behaviors in 12 behavioral categories then evaluated via behavioral analysis. Finger lengths from the right and left forelimb hands of both groups were measured by X-ray imaging. Finger length and digit ratio comparisons between the two groups were conducted using Student’s t-test. In terms of the duration of each behavior, significant differences emerged in “Huddling” and five other behavioral categories, including Ingestive, Amicable, Parental, Locomotive, and Resting. In addition to the above five behavioral categories, we found that depressed monkeys spent less time in parental and rubbing ‘ and forth behaviors than the control group. Furthermore, the 4th fingers were significantly longer in the left and right hands in the control group relative to the depressed monkeys. The second-to-fourth (2D:4D) digit ratio in the left and right forelimb hands was significantly lower in the control group than that in the depressed group. Our findings revealed significant differences in finger lengths and digit ratios between depressed monkeys and healthy controls, which concords with our view that relatively high fetal testosterone exposure may be a protective factor against developing depressive symptoms (or that low fetal testosterone exposure is a risk factor).

    Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
    Letters to the editor
    High egg rejection rate in a Chinese population of grey-backed thrush (Turdus hortulorum)
    Can-Chao Yang, Long-Wu Wang, Wei Liang, Anders Møller
    Zoological Research. 2019, 40 (3): 226-230.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.039
    Abstract ( 157 )   RICH HTML ( 16 )   PDF (11013KB) ( 134 )  

    everal previous studies have indicated that nest sanitation behavior is a general adaptation in altricial birds, with egg recognition capacity evolving as a specific response to interspecific brood parasitism (IBP). However, a recent study suggested an alternative hypothesis, concluding that conspecific brood parasitism (CBP) selects for egg rejection in thrushes, with IBP as a by-product. In the present study, we used a spectrophotometer to quantify egg coloration and egg mimicry and performed artificial parasitism experiments in the grey-backed thrush (Turdus hortulorum). We showed that individuals of this species rejected 100% of 12 foreign eggs, without IBP or CBP detected. In a review of previous studies, we also discuss possible explanations for the high egg rejection rate in the grey-backed thrush and suggest areas for future study.

    Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
    Threshold for maximal electroshock seizures (MEST) at three developmental stages in young mice
    Cheng Xiang, Zhi-Na Li, Tian-Zhuang Huang, Jing-Hui Li, Lei Yang, Jing-Kuan Wei
    Zoological Research. 2019, 40 (3): 231-235.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.038
    Abstract ( 206 )   RICH HTML ( 85 )   PDF (850KB) ( 123 )  

    Early brain development after birth is extremely dynamic, suggesting that potential functional changes occur during this period. In this study, the maximal electroshock seizure threshold (MEST) was used to explore the electrophysiological variation among three developmental stages in young mice (no more than 5 weeks old). The induced electroshock seizure (ES) behavior of early postnatal mice (1–2-weeks old) differed from that during weaning (3 weeks old) and early puberty (4–5-weeks old). Thus, we further explored their respective characteristic responses to the ES parameters. When the stimulation current (SC) was limited to 4.0 mA, only the 1–2-week-old mice were induced to exhibit ES behavior at voltages of 30 V and 40 V, indicating they were more sensitive to maximal electroshock seizure (MES) (response to lower voltage). Surprisingly, however, they showed substantially lower mortality than the older groups under higher voltage conditions (60, 100, 160, and 200 V), suggesting better tolerance to the SC. We also found that when the current limit decreased to 3.5 mA, the 4–5-week-olds mice exhibited stable ES behavior with low mortality, while for 3-week-olds mice, the SC limit required to be reduced to 1.5 mA. In conclusion, our findings showed that neural sensitivity to MES was significantly different in young mice before puberty. Thus, greater attention should be given to distinguishing the developmental period of mice, especially in electrophysiological examination.

    Figures and Tables | References | Related Articles | Metrics
    A transgenic monkey model for the study of human brain evolution
    Lei Shi, Bing Su
    Zoological Research. 2019, 40 (3): 236-238.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.031
    Abstract ( 463 )   RICH HTML ( 332 )   PDF (236KB) ( 350 )  

    Why humans have large brains with higher cognitive abilities is a question long asked by scientists. However, much remains unknown, especially the underlying genetic mechanisms. With the use of a transgenic monkey model, we showed that human-specific sequence changes of a key brain development gene (primary microcephaly1, MCPH1) could result in detectable molecular and cognitive changes resembling human neoteny, a notable characteristic developed during human evolution.

    References | Related Articles | Metrics
    Call for papers
    Zoological Research call for special issue papers
    Zoological Research. 2019, 40 (3): 239-239.  
    Abstract ( 106 )   RICH HTML PDF (320KB) ( 93 )  
    Related Articles | Metrics
Current Issue
2019, Volume 40 Issue 3

Please wait a minute...
  2019年, 第40卷, 第3期 刊出日期:2019-05-18 上一期    下一期
全选: 合并摘要 显示图片
Full issue
Contents 收藏
动物学研究. 2019, (3): 0-0.  
摘要 ( 143 )     PDF (53751KB) ( 52 )  
相关文章 | 计量指标
Review
硬骨鱼类单核巨噬细胞特殊功能和调控:极化和吞噬 收藏
陆新江, 陈炯
动物学研究. 2019, (3): 146-150.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.035
摘要 ( 523 )   HTML ( 121 )     PDF (322KB) ( 615 )  

巨噬细胞在脊椎动物的大部分组织中均存在并且拥有多种功能。硬骨鱼生存于全球大部分的水体并具有极强的生物多样性。由于整体基因组复制和环境适应,硬骨鱼单核巨噬细胞和哺乳类相比,拥有多种不同的功能和调控机制。深入理解免疫系统中硬骨鱼类单核巨噬细胞的功能和机制,不仅有助于开发硬骨鱼类相关的疾病防治手段,也将有助于我们理解哺乳动物的多种免疫机制。本综述总结了硬骨鱼类和哺乳动物单核巨噬细胞极化和吞噬的差异,该工作将有助于我们理解脊椎动物免疫机制的多样性。

数据和表 | 参考文献 | 相关文章 | 计量指标
研究论文
缅甸北部克钦邦发现疣螈属两栖纲有尾目蝾螈科一新种 收藏
Than Zaw, Paw Lay, Parinya Pawangkhanant, JVladislav A. Gorin, Nikolay A. Poyarkov, Jr.
动物学研究. 2019, (3): 151-174.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.043
摘要 ( 710 )   HTML ( 87 )     PDF (11401KB) ( 766 )  

依据形态特征比较和分子系统发育分析,将采自缅甸克钦邦印多吉湖区域的疣螈属物种订为一新种——克钦疣螈 Tylototriton kachinorum sp. nov.。 新种归属于疣螈亚属,新种主要鉴别特征为:中等体型;尾细长;无肋沟;皮肤粗糙;吻端平截;头侧脊棱宽且明显,自眼前角开始;枕部“V”形棱脊不明显;四肢细长,前后肢贴体相对时趾指末端能重叠;脊椎宽且明显,不分段;13或14段肋骨;背部呈棕色至深棕色,唇区,腮腺,肋骨结节,四肢,泄殖腔和腹部尾脊上有暗橙褐色至黄褐色斑纹。另外,本研究还简要讨论了缅甸疣螈属的生物地理和物种多样性。

数据和表 | 参考文献 | 相关文章 | 计量指标
藏东南舌突蛙属(无尾目:亚洲角蛙科)一新种,兼记该属分布、繁殖生物学及保育 收藏
蒋珂, 王剀, 王聿帆, 李成, 车静
动物学研究. 2019, (3): 175-184.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.025
摘要 ( 398 )   HTML ( 37 )     PDF (13640KB) ( 282 )  
依据DNA分子及形态数据,依据西藏墨脱县标本描述舌突蛙属Liurana一新种。该新种具备以下形态鉴别特征,区别于同属近缘种:1)头宽大于头长;2)鼓膜较大且裸露;3)后肢较长,后肢贴体前伸时,胫跗关节超过吻端;4)腹部具扁平疣粒,泄殖腔附近具细小颗粒;5)四肢背面具数条明显横纹,其中大腿4条,小腿3条;6)腹部白色,具深棕色云纹或大块斑点。同时,本研究讨论了舌突蛙属在东喜马拉雅地区的分布格局、雅鲁藏布江在该属物种形成及基因隔离上所起的作用、该属直接发育的特殊繁殖方式以及该属物种的两种生态型。最后,依据调查研究结果,对该属物种在西藏的保护提供了意见。
相关文章 | 计量指标
条鳍鱼胰岛素基因的重复和多样化 收藏
David M. Irwin
动物学研究. 2019, (3): 185-197.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2018.052
摘要 ( 203 )   HTML ( 333 )     PDF (1948KB) ( 170 )  
胰岛素是调节脊椎动物代谢的关键激素。胰岛素由胰岛细胞响应于升高的葡萄糖水平产生,并且导致诸如肝脏和脂肪组织摄取葡萄糖以储存能量。胰岛素还具有调节发育的额外功能。以前的研究表明,编码激素逆转调节胰岛素的胰高血糖素原基因在硬骨鱼中被复制,并且由这些基因编码的肽激素在功能上具有多样性。我试图确定这些物种中的胰岛素基因是否发生了类似的过程。鱼类基因组的搜索揭示了胰岛素基因的意外多样性。胰岛素基因的三倍体发生在硬骨鱼的起源上,然而这三个基因中的一个—insc—已经在大多数硬骨鱼类谱系中丢失。另外两种胰岛素基因insa和insb已被保留,但显示出不同的选择性约束水平,表明它们可能在功能上有多样化。有趣的是,在许多鱼类中发现了insa基因的重复拷贝,我将其命名为insab。由insab基因编码的编码序列处于弱选择性约束下,其预测的蛋白质序列失去了被加工成双肽激素的潜力。然而,这些序列保留了完全保守的胱氨酸残基,表明它们维持胰岛素的三维结构,因此可能调节其他基因产生的胰岛素的加工和分泌。
相关文章 | 计量指标
C-末端酰胺化和七肽环对新型崑嵛林蛙(Rana kunyuensis)抗菌肽amurin-9KY生物学活性和高级结构的影响 收藏
张芬, 郭志来, 陈燕, 李莉, 于海宁, 王义鹏
动物学研究. 2019, (3): 198-204.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2018.070
摘要 ( 223 )   HTML ( 14 )     PDF (3660KB) ( 158 )  
崑嵛林蛙(Rana kunyuensis)作为林蛙属的一种,仅自然生活于中国山东省烟台市昆嵛山境内。在本研究中,从合成的崑嵛林蛙皮肤cDNA文库中克隆获得一条279 bp的cDNA序列,该序列编码一种新型抗菌肽分子,命名为amurin-9KY。Amurin-9KY前体由62个氨基酸残基组成,其中成熟肽由14个氨基酸残基组成,包括由2个半胱氨酸残基形成的分子内七肽环和酰胺化的C-末端。这些结构特点表明amurin-9KY是一种新型两栖类抗菌肽家族成员之一。尽管amurin-9KY和之前从黑龙江林蛙(Rana amurensis)中发现的amurin-9AM具有较高的相似性,但是到目前为止对于amurin-9家族抗菌肽的结构和功能仍然未知。在本论文中,我们设计合成了amurin-9KY和3个改造体多肽amurin-9KY1-3,研究了C-末端酰胺化和七肽环对amurin-9KY结构和功能的影响。结果表明C-末端酰胺化对amurin-9KY的抗菌活性十分重要,而C-末端酰胺化和七肽环对amurin-9KY的溶血活性同时具有影响。圆二色谱(Circular dichroism, CD)结果表明上述4种多肽在TFE/H2O (v/v 1:1)溶液中均为α-螺旋型结构,而在水溶液中为无规则结构。打断七肽环的二硫键使2个半胱氨酸的巯基游离能够显著增加amurin-9KY的抗氧化活性。扫描电子显微镜(Scanning electron microscopy, SEM)同时也被用于研究amurin-9KY的抗菌机理。
相关文章 | 计量指标
菲牛蛭(Hirudinaria manillensis)中一种新型抗凝血多肽的分离纯化与表征 收藏
程若梅, 唐小芃, 龙爱琳, Mwangi James, 赖仞, 孙瑞璞, 龙承波, 张真庆
动物学研究. 2019, (3): 205-210.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.037
摘要 ( 299 )   HTML ( 42 )     PDF (1059KB) ( 445 )  

目前关于菲牛蛭(Hirudinaria manillensis)中的蛋白酶抑制剂的报道还比较少。本研究纯化了一种新型抗凝血特性的蛋白酶抑制剂,命名为bdellin-HM-2;其分子量为1.4x104,分子内N端有三对二硫键和C端有多个HHXDD和HXDD基序。cDNA克隆结果揭示了bdellin-HM-2的可能的核苷酸编码蛋白由132个氨基酸组成,由 399 bp开放阅读框(ORF)编码。序列比对表明,bdellin-HM-2与“非典型”Kazal型丝氨酸蛋白酶抑制剂相似,但却对胰蛋白酶、弹性酶、糜蛋白酶、激肽酶、XIIa因子(FXIIa)、因子XIa (FXIa)、因子Xa (FXa)、凝血酶以及纤溶酶都没有抑制作用。Bdellin-HM-2是通过延长活化的部分凝血活酶时间(aPTT)达到抗凝血作用,继而获得从宿主那里吸食血液作为食物的能力。我们的研究结果表明,Bdellin-HM-2可能在这类水蛭的吸血过程中都起到重要作用,可能是一种临床上潜在的候选抗血栓药物。

数据和表 | 参考文献 | 相关文章 | 计量指标
研究报告
电磁力(EMF)诱导大鼠被动眼球运动 收藏
Yue Yu, Jun Huang, Chun-Ming Zhang, Tian-Wen Chen, David S. Sandlin, Shao-Xun Wang, Alberto A. Arteaga, Jerome Allison, Yang Ou, Susan Warren, Paul May, Hong Zhu, Wu Zhou
动物学研究. 2019, (3): 211-218.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.024
摘要 ( 218 )   HTML ( 15 )     PDF (6182KB) ( 169 )  
眼球在眼眶中位置的准确信息可从视觉反馈、动眼神经指令的输出复制、眼外肌(EOM)的本体感觉信号中获得,对于视觉反馈、动眼神经指令已有很多研究,但是对于EOM本体感觉信号的中央处理机制仍有待阐明,在不接触眼球的情况下诱导被动眼球运动是该研究领域面临的一个挑战。为此,本研究建立了一种崭新的可诱导大鼠眼球被动运动的方法:将一个直径0.7毫米、厚度0.5毫米的小型稀土磁铁盘附着在大鼠眼球表面,在距离磁铁8–15毫米处放置一根电磁(EM)线圈包裹的直径5毫米金属棒。通过EM线圈通电流,产生电磁力(EMF),作用于眼球表面的磁铁,诱导可控的被动眼球运动。该眼球运动方向取决于电流极性,振幅和峰值速度取决于电流强度和持续时间。EMF诱导的眼动峰值速度与振幅呈线性相关,其主序关系与清醒大鼠的扫视,以及微电刺激麻醉大鼠外展神经核诱导的眼动相似。组织学检查显示,重复的EMF刺激未造成EOM肌纤维损伤。这些结果证明EMF可作为一种新的工具,用于研究EOM本体感觉信号在视觉定位以及凝视控制中的作用。
相关文章 | 计量指标
雌性抑郁食蟹猴(Macaca fascicularis)有着较高的指长比(2D:4D) 收藏
李炜, 罗凌云, 杨迅, 何勇, 连斌, 屈超华, 吴青原, 张建国, 谢鹏
动物学研究. 2019, (3): 219-225.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.022
摘要 ( 377 )   HTML ( 276 )     PDF (1904KB) ( 287 )  

该文旨在探究指长比(2D:4D)与雌性自然抑郁食蟹猴(Macaca fascicularis)的关系。在组笼已经稳定且不同的食蟹猴群体中,根据笼养食蟹猴核心抑郁行为的筛选标准,筛选出15只雌性抑郁食蟹猴以及16只雌性正常对照的个体,并用X光机测量所有个体的食指与无名指的指长。所有筛选的食蟹猴个体都进行了2周的行为数据采集,其中包括核心抑郁行为在内的58种行为。最后我们将这58种行为分为12类进行分析,发现抑郁组和正常对照组在核心抑郁行为、运动行为、摄食行为、育幼行为、休息行为有显著差异。X光测量数据显示自然抑郁猴组个体有着较高的指长比(2D:4D)。

数据和表 | 参考文献 | 相关文章 | 计量指标
Letter to the editor
中国的灰背鸫(Turdus hortulorum)种群具有很强的卵识别能力 收藏
杨灿朝, 王龙舞, 梁伟, Anders Pape M?ller
动物学研究. 2019, (3): 226-230.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.039
摘要 ( 181 )   HTML ( 17 )     PDF (11013KB) ( 151 )  

以往研究表明,清巢行为是晚成性鸟类一种普遍的行为适应,而卵识别则是对种间巢寄生的一种反寄生行为。但欧洲最近的一项研究却认为,鸫类的卵识别是对同种寄生的一种反寄生行为,而种间寄生只是其行为进化的副产品。显然,关于鸫类卵识别能力的进化需要更多的物种及其更多地理种群加以验证。我们对中国东北的一个灰背鸫(Turdus hortulorum)种群的卵识别能力进行了研究。通过测量灰背鸫和实验卵的卵色光谱,我们发现灰背鸫在没有发现种间寄生,也没有同种寄生的情况下,拒绝外来非模拟卵的概率高达100%。我们的结果不支持同种寄生而导致卵识别能力进化的观点,但这需要今后在中国更多的鸫类鸟种及其地理种群开展实验验证。

数据和表 | 参考文献 | 相关文章 | 计量指标
小鼠三个早期发育阶段最大电惊厥阈值(MEST)的异同 收藏
向诚, 李志娜, 黄田庄, 李经辉, 杨雷, 魏景宽
动物学研究. 2019, (3): 231-235.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.038
摘要 ( 225 )   HTML ( 85 )     PDF (850KB) ( 140 )  

人类和其他哺乳动物的大脑,在出生后仍会经历快速的生长发育,并在此过程中逐渐形成完善的大脑功能。本研究利用最大电惊厥阈值检测范式,对产后早期(1-2周龄)、离乳期(3周龄)和青春早期(4-5周龄)的未成年小鼠,开展诱发癫痫大发作行为实验,探索不同发育阶段大脑的神经电生理特点。我们将0.5-4.0 mA、35-200 V范围内不同参数搭配的电刺激给予不同周龄的小鼠后,观察造成其最大电惊厥(MES)、无响应和致死等三种行为学表现的电流、电压范围。结果显示:相较于青春早期小鼠,产后早期小鼠在更宽的电流电压范围(1.0-4.0 mA,60-200V)内均可诱发MES,且无死亡;而离乳期小鼠仅在1.5-2.0 mA,100-160V内发生MES反应,致死范围较其他两组大。此外,产后早期MES反应表现为四肢弯曲,角弓反张,抽搐,与其他两组小鼠躯干和后肢强直,僵硬的行为不一致。总之,本研究通过诱导最大电惊厥阈值实验,发现出生后早期阶段神经系统对电刺激具有更高敏感性和更强耐受性;离乳期时存在关键神经生理调整期。这些结果提示,对于一些儿童多发神经系统疾病的病理和药理机制研究,如儿童癫痫等,应注意区分动物的发育时间,建立更加适用的幼年动物疾病模型。

数据和表 | 参考文献 | 相关文章 | 计量指标
人类大脑进化研究的转基因猴模型 收藏
石磊, 宿兵
动物学研究. 2019, (3): 236-238.   DOI: 10.24272/j.issn.2095-8137.2019.031
摘要 ( 506 )   HTML ( 340 )     PDF (236KB) ( 390 )  

科学家们长期以来一直很好奇,人类为什么会拥有较高认知能力的“大”脑。然而,关于人类大脑仍然有许多未知,特别是其潜在的遗传机制。我们构建了携带一个关键的人类大脑发育基因MCPH1(原发性小头畸形基因)拷贝的转基因恒河猴模型,在转基因猴中检测到认知能力的变化,转基因猴携带的人类特异遗传变异可能导致类似于人类大脑发育的幼态持续(neoteny)现象,这是人类进化过程中出现的一个显著特征。

参考文献 | 相关文章 | 计量指标
征文启事
Zoological Research call for special issue papers 收藏
动物学研究. 2019, (3): 239-239.  
摘要 ( 110 )     PDF (320KB) ( 96 )  
相关文章 | 计量指标
当期目录
2019年, 40卷 第3期